Confidential Chat, Irish Bread Recipe, and Sharing

Here’s the recipe for my mother’s Irish bread. I don’t know what real ‘Irish bread’ truly is, but my brothers and sisters and I all loved this lightly sweetened version, and my husband and sons enjoy it now.

I’m sure she clipped the recipe from the Confidential Chat section of the Boston Globe.Confidential Chat was like a no tech version of facebook. Readers would take a name… I was Shamrock Lassie… and send in letters, recipes, household hints (How to polish your furniture with lemons, How to keep your stainless steel shiny with baking soda) and quotes or poems they wanted to share with others. The editors MIGHT choose your letter to publish in a special section.

Kind of like March Slice of Life! So, here’s to Confidential Chat, sharing writing and warm bread. Slainte!

Nana’s Irish Bread

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

I bake the bread in a greased cast iron frying pan.

Soak 1 C raisins in hot water

Cream together 3/4 C sugar and 3 Tablespoons  butter/margarine

Beat in 2 eggs

Sift together 3C flour/ 2 teaspoons baking soda/  3 teaspoons baking powder

and 1/2 teaspoon salt

Add 1 Cup sour milk (I add a tad of white vinegar or lemon juice to milk and wait a few minutes) alternately gently with dry ingredients. Don’t overbeat here. Like muffins, too much energy makes a tough batter.

Drain raisins and add to batter.

Add 1 tablespoon caraway seeds.

Bake for 35-45 minutes.

Categories: Uncategorized | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Confidential Chat, Irish Bread Recipe, and Sharing

  1. Irish bread sounds yummy! Something to try this week in honor of St. Patrick’s Day!

  2. This sounds so yummy I want to try it tonight and it doesn’t sound hard at all. xo Thanks!

  3. Sounds so yummy.

  4. Thanks for the recipe. I hoped that you would post it. And to my surprise…we have my grandmother’s recipe called ‘Nana Rolls’..so when I saw Nana’s Irish Bread…it touched my heart. So, now…I will take a picture of the recipe and try it. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  5. Mag,
    It’s amazing how much your blog looks like mine and I just changed my header photo this morning after a long time with something very different 🙂
    It’s that time again. THanks and let’s get ready to celebrate. My dad’s birthday is the 17th. 93 for him!

  6. Mmm … love a good bread recipe to try! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

