Have a Bowl of Pasta (Even the Gluten Free) and Smile!

Slicers are amazing. I’ve learned so much and found so much for contemplation over the last few weeks. Several posts focused on how we perceive ourselves, and since so many of us are women, and that alone is worth a post, we often focus on appearance.

Do you read those catchy teasers on the Yahoo page? Crummy bowl found to be worth $2 million… which stars wore this dress best?…. what Kate said about her recent visit to Transylvania….. Six salads that will change your life...

I often am captured by them, and click on… a time wasting detour that’s sometimes annoying, and sometimes interesting.

Today’s teaser pictures a robust woman who lost a ton of weight through weight loss surgery. In her book, Stranger Here: How weight Loss Surgery Transformed My Body and Messed With My Head,  Jen Larsen speaks to the image women often have in their head about the perfect me or the perfect size.

Instead, we need to be healthy women. physically and emotionally, and jump for joy! We’re here! We love ourselves! We love our selves whether we’re trim and fit, or a little slouchy, or even a little grouchy! Wednesday is Prince spaghetti day! Have a bowl of pasta and smile.

Jen writes:

I want to say, don’t love yourself even though you’re not perfect – love yourself because you have a body and it’s worth loving and it is perfect. Be healthy, which is perfect at whatever size healthy is and at whatever size happy is. And of course that’s totally easy and I have just caused a revolution in body image. Let’s all go home now.

Right. So, I don’t know what the answer is, and I don’t know how to make it happen, and I don’t know what to do except keep yelling about it, wherever I can. Saying there’s no magic number, and there’s no perfect size – and of course you know that, but we have to keep telling each other because it’s hard to remember sometimes. We have to keep saying it. We have to figure out how to believe it.

IMG_20130125_165412

This is me, not Jen. I’m smiling because FINALLY I can get my curly hair straight.

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Have a Bowl of Pasta (Even the Gluten Free) and Smile!

  1. The Slice is making my Amazon list longer.

  2. I wonder if we (women) will ever not look at ourselves and see room for improvement? I liked your post, body image is really in our minds. We are bombarded from all sorts of media telling us how we should look and act. I feel so sorry for some of these young girls now…but then am surprised when I hear one speak her own mind and have her own look. Maybe we are learning. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. There are always things I would want to change, but I decided if it happens, it happens. I’m not living my life worrying about my size.

  4. I totally get sucked into those Yahoo titles, too! I love Jen’s quote “love yourself because you have a body and it’s worth loving and it is perfect.” I’m not there yet, but I’m on my way.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

