Happy Anniversary Blog!Do You Write if Noone Reads? Unique chili!

Was totally ready to Post about something and found a comment from WordPress. “Happy Anniversary.” Well, turns out created my first post to March Slices on March 22, 2008! Guess I finished off the challenge with a few slices and abandoned the blog, there’s a pal in principal, until March 2009. In 2009 I stayed with the program and sliced just about every day. Learning from Stacey and Ruth, I tried a Smilebox slide show and actually included a few photos. I think it’s a lot easier now to include photos than it was then.

There are a few entries in 2009, but when no one reads what you think, you stop writing it down, I guess. In 2010 I stayed with the challenge throughout the month. In looking back, I found my recipe for black bean pumpkin chili. I’m so happy because I’ve lost that in the move, and had to reconstruct it from memory and a few online recipes that are close.

So, thank you Stacey and Ruth for nudging me into the blogging world where I had lots of fun writing and learned so much from the other Slicers. It’s a huge undertaking for you (I think in 2008 you read every post!) but so many of have learned so much from the challenge. If no one reads your writing it’s so easy to just stop writing.

It may be spring, but it’s still chili (ha!) weather here. Today I defrosted some ground turkey and simmered some

Black Bean and Pumpkin Chili in the crockpot

1 med onion

1 med sweet pepper chopped (yellow/orange suggested. I used red)

3 garlic cloves minced

2 Tablespoons olive oil

3 Cups chicken broth

2 cans black beans rinsed and drained

2 1/2 cups cubed turkey (ground)

1 can solid pack pumpkin

1 can diced tomatoes

2 teaspoons dried parsley

2 teaspoons chili powder

1 1/2 teaspoons oregano

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

Saute the onion, garlic and pepper in oil in a skillet. Transfer to slow cooker and add the other ingredients. Cover and cook on low for 4-41/2 hours. Serves 10  (1 Cup= 192 calories)

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Blog!Do You Write if Noone Reads? Unique chili!

  1. I too want to thank Ruth and Stacey for bringing out the blogger in me!! Thank you for a great recipe too!

  2. It’s interesting to look back and see what you’ve written over the years. It is discouraging if no one reads your thoughts. I have never really tried writing without linking it to TWT, so I wonder if there would be any comments.

  3. That sounds delicious! Congrats on your achievements.

  4. It’s hard, but if you need to write you write even if no one reads it, no one hears your thoughts. But it is better if there is a noise out there! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

